Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds’ “The Good Son” Turns 30


On this day in 1990 “Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds” released their album The Good Son, an album that many didn’t see coming. Much of the band’s work up until that point had been dark and unapologetically graphic, but the The Good Son had a shift in tone. It was more mature musically due to Nick Cave’s time in Brazil where he fell in love, and also following his time in rehab. The album features Nick Cave’s signature vivid storytelling, but much of these stories were told through a melancholy and romantic lens that drew parallels between the song’s characters and characters of biblical stories. This album solidified Cave’s status as one of music’s most unique and imaginative songwriters. Happy Anniversary.


Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds Announce New Album “Ghosteen”


It’s a good day for Nick Cave fans. Today the legendary singer/songwriter announced on his fan Q&A page “The Red Hand Files” that “The Bad Seeds” will release their new album Ghosteen next week. It will be a double album and Cave has described that the songs on the first album are “the children” and the songs on the second are “their parents.” “Ghosteen is a migrating spirit,” Cave describes. This album will follow 2016’s Skeleton Tree. Check out the album cover and tracklist below:


Ghosteen Tracklist:

Part 1:
1. The Spinning Song
2. Bright Horses
3. Waiting For You
4. Night Raid
5. Sun Forest
6. Galleon Ship
7. Ghosteen Speaks
8. Leviathan

Part 2:
1. Ghosteen
2. Fireflies
3. Hollywood